Valerie Bertinelli Bikini Body Hullaballoo

bertinellibikini.jpg

I do not begrudge Valerie Bertinelli one bit of happiness for feeling better and meeting goals and eating healthy – though I have no idea what the ingredients in a Jenny Craig meal are.

I’m glad she’s happy.  She suffered a long time hating herself and now she is doing a-ok.  I hope so anyway.  I have a feeling though if she puts on three pounds she is going to be crying into her frozen pasta meal and skipping her puck-like frozen chocolate cake sliver.

There is SO MUCH EMPHASIS on how she LOOKS.  I don’t think she is helping her sisters.  I think she tells herself she is.  I think she probably feels that she is inspiring.  What I have seen is her photo on the same pages with lots of diet ads rotating next to it.

Valerie – congratulations.  You are beautiful and I hope you will stay happy even if you gain a few pounds and even if you happen to begin to age some day.  I hope you can live with it and love with it and feel good.  It would be great if you would try and think of ways to help the next generation of girls have healthy self-esteems that have little to do with how they look in a bikini.

About H.L. Brooks

Artist & Writer
This entry was posted in Bodies in the News, body image. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Valerie Bertinelli Bikini Body Hullaballoo

  1. Pingback: I’m Dizzy From The Whiplash | Body Politics

Leave a comment